Cage The Elephant – Tell Me I’m Pretty

The American alternative band, Cage The Elephant released their fourth studio album earlier this month

After the popularity of their last album, especially Melophobia’s tracks “Come a Little Closer” and “Cigarette Daydreams” that shook and took over the alternative music stream late last year, Cage the Elephant comes through with their very alternative sound that keeps us listening throughout their new album. Known for staying true to their sound, Cage the Elephant continues to explore different topics using many metaphors, but something has changed in the way this new album sounds, it is different, but a good different. While they kept the same sound there is a sort of maturity to their music, because while having avidly listened to their music since their debut self-titled album, they seem to have aged their sound, following their fan base, it sounds less sporadic and more composed, a very positive change for them. This may seem confusing because they have stuck to their sound but changed, the thing is, the biggest issue that a lot of listeners had with the first two albums from Cage the Elephant was how there are times when it was just a lot of random sounding noise, a compilation of really loud percussion, guitar and vocals that didn’t necessarily mesh together and created a sort of awkwardness in the flow of the album. Not having that included was a big plus in “Tell Me I’m Pretty” and the sort of old-style guitar riffs they stuck in, making it some fresh listening. Overall, this album is a nice fresh addition to an already good collection of music.

Tell Me I'm Pretty
Tell Me I'm Pretty
  • Great Album flow
  • Nice use of old-style guitar
  • Fresh maturity of sound
  • Lacks diversity
  • A bit short (10 songs)
  • First Impression
  • Marinated Impression
  • Pacing
  • Production
  • Diversity
  • Album Entity
No Comment

Leave a Reply

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *


  • Hanging on a Star_Single Cover

    Les Biches: Nick Drake, Reimagined

    With reverberated electric guitar, thrashing symbols, and liquid basslines, LA’s Les Biches reimagines one of legendary folk dreamer, Nick Drake’s posthumous releases. Drake’s “Hanging on a Star” was originally...
  • allan-rayman-roadhouse

    Roadhouse 01 (album) – Allan Rayman

    Allan Rayman has quickly grown into an artist everyone knows and it’s evident on this site. Every track he has released has been better than the last and on...
  • Screen Shot 2017-02-14 at 2.41.22 PM

    Nightlands – Lost Moon

    As a core member of The War On Drugs, Dave Hartley’s most recent single, “Lost Moon,” follows similar atmospheric, spaced-out sensations found in his previous three LPs under the...
  • boniver1-9.30.2016-1-970x550

    Bon Iver Live @ Brooklyn’s Pioneer Works

    Written by Colin Kirkland When my friend, Gilly, and I pulled into Red Hook, we looked around wondering whether or not the driver was planning on murdering us, or...